Back to the Scottish Parliament Local Government and Communities Committee Minutes of Proceedings
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports


4th Meeting, 2011 (Session 3)

Wednesday 2 February 2011


Bob Doris (Deputy Convener) Patricia Ferguson
Alex Johnstone Duncan McNeil (Convener)
Alasdair Morgan Mary Mulligan
Jim Tolson John Wilson

The meeting opened at 9.59 am.

1.Child poverty in Scotland: The Committee took evidence from—

Nicola Sturgeon MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing, Samantha Coope, Head of Tackling Poverty Team, Jim Stephen, Head of Early Education and Childcare, Julie Bilotti, Policy Manager, Employability, and Anne MacDonald, Statistician, Communities Analytical Services, Scottish Government.

2.Fuel Poverty: The Committee took evidence from—

Charles Gallacher, Director, Scotland, Wales and the Regions, David Pimm, Group Finance Director, and Maxine Frerk, Partner, Sustainable Development, Ofgem;

Rev. Graham Blount, Chair, Scottish Fuel Poverty Forum;

Alizeh Hussain, Social Policy and Parliamentary Officer, Citizens Advice Scotland.

3.Subordinate legislation: The Committee considered the following negative instruments—

the Town and Country Planning (Determination of Appeals by Appointed Persons) (Prescribed Classes) (Scotland) Regulations 2010 (SSI2010/467);

the Limitation on Right to Purchase (Form of Notice) (Scotland) Regulations 2010 (SSI2010/468);

the Housing (Scotland) Act 2010 (Consequential Amendment) Order 2010 (SSI2010/469);

the Council Tax (Discounts) (Scotland) Amendment Order 2011 (SSI2011/5).

The Committee agreed that it did not wish to make any recommendations on the instruments.

The meeting closed at 12.45 pm.

Susan Duffy
Clerk to the Local Government and Communities Committee
Room T3.60
The Scottish Parliament
Tel: 0131 348 5217