Back to the Scottish Parliament Business Bulletin No.47/2005: Friday 18 March 2005
Archive Home

Business Bulletin 1999-2011

Minutes of Proceedings 1999-2011

Journal of Parliamentary Proceedings Sessions 1 & 2

Committees Sessions 1, 2 & 3

Annual reports


Section G – Bills

New amendments to Bills lodged on 17 March 2005

Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Bill – Stage 2

Section 7

Scott Barrie

1 In section 7, page 4, line 20, at end insert <(including the provision of non-formal education opportunities through youth work to promote the development of young people)>

Scott Barrie

2 In section 7, page 4, line 22, at end insert <and the saving of life>

Section 103

Scott Barrie

3 In section 103, page 60, line 13, after <includes> insert <serious>

Members’ Bills Proposals

A Member who has lodged a proposal has the right to introduce a Member’s Bill to give effect to that proposal under Rule 9.14.12 of the Standing Orders provided:

  • the proposal has attracted 18 supporters which include members of at least half of the political parties or groups represented on the Parliamentary Bureau; and

  • the Scottish Executive has not given an indication under Rule 9.14.13 that it or Her Majesty’s Government will initiate legislation to give effect to the proposal.

The Bills page of the Parliamentary website shows the current status in this regard.

Names marked with an (*) are new names of support.

Mike Pringle: Proposed Plastic Bag Environmental Levy Bill—Proposal for a Bill to impose an environmental levy on specified plastic bags payable by the consumer, to require local authorities to collect the levy and for the "net proceeds" to be ring fenced for use on environmental projects in local authority areas. (lodged 9 March 2005)

A copy of the consultation paper together with copies of each response and a summary of all responses (including the conclusions drawn from those responses) are available in SPICe.

Supported by: Nora Radcliffe, Margaret Smith, Jeremy Purvis, Mike Rumbles, John Farquhar Munro, George Lyon, Mr Jamie Stone, Robert Brown, Donald Gorrie, Iain Smith, Margo MacDonald, Roseanna Cunningham, Eleanor Scott, Chris Ballance, Mr Stewart Maxwell, Mr Andrew Arbuckle, Ms Sandra White, Mark Ballard, Robin Harper, Richard Lochhead, Patrick Harvie, Shiona Baird, Mr Mark Ruskell, Rob Gibson, Mr Kenny MacAskill, Linda Fabiani, Christine Grahame, Bruce Crawford, Alex Neil, Michael Matheson, Ms Rosemary Byrne