Friday 13 October 2000


Section A - Daily Business List

Meeting of the Parliament

2.00 pm

Tributes to the Right Honourable Donald Dewar, MP, MSP

S1M-1260 Jim Wallace: Motion of Condolence- That the Parliament expresses its deep regret and sadness at the untimely death of its First Minister, The Rt Hon Donald Dewar MP, MSP; offers its sympathy and sincere condolences to his family and many friends whose grief is shared by all members of this Parliament; agrees that tributes should be paid to a distinguished Parliamentarian and great leader of Scotland; further agrees that as a mark of respect no other business will be taken today.

Supported by: Henry McLeish, John Swinney, David McLetchie, Mr Sam Galbraith, Ms Wendy Alexander, Susan Deacon, Mr Tom McCabe, Sarah Boyack, Mr Jack McConnell, Ross Finnie, Colin Boyd, Neil Davidson, Dennis Canavan, Robin Harper, Bruce Crawford, Mrs Margaret Ewing, Tommy Sheridan, Tavish Scott, Mr Jamie Stone, Mr John Munro, George Lyon, Bill Aitken, Brian Adam, Bristow Muldoon, Mr Murray Tosh, Nick Johnston, Mike Watson, Alex Johnstone, Rhoda Grant, Maureen Macmillan, David Mundell, Alex Fergusson, Elaine Smith, Donald Gorrie, John Scott, Mr George Reid, Patricia Ferguson, Elaine Thomson, Mrs Lyndsay McIntosh, Mr Michael McMahon, Allan Wilson, Kay Ullrich, Fiona McLeod, Helen Eadie, Janis Hughes, Pauline McNeill, Iain Gray, Mrs Mary Mulligan, Mr Jamie McGrigor, Fergus Ewing, Tricia Marwick, Fiona Hyslop, Nicola Sturgeon, Colin Campbell, Malcolm Chisholm, Dr Winnie Ewing, Michael Matheson, Richard Lochhead, Mr Frank McAveety, Peter Peacock, Mr Kenny MacAskill, Dr Sylvia Jackson, Mr Adam Ingram, Iain Smith, Lord James Douglas-Hamilton.

Printed at 12 noon on Friday 13 October 2000